CNOM Best Paper Award

Rewarding Deserving CNOM Members

Beyond the scientific activities, CNOM’s scope includes nomination of deserving members for awards. The CNOM Best Paper Award is given to deserving and outstanding papers that have been published during the previous two years in conferences supported by CNOM. Individual CNOM members can make suggestions for such nominations at any point in time by sending an email to the award committee chair ( The award committee members will review each suggestion and support a nomination as appropriate. The call for nominations will be announced through the CNOM mailing list.

CNOM Best Paper Award

The recipients of the CNOM TC Best Paper Award award are:

  • 2022: Ding, Damu, Marco Savi, and Domenico Siracusa. Estimating logarithmic and exponential functions to track network traffic entropy in P4. NOMS 2020-2020 IEEE/IFIP Network Operations and Management Symposium. IEEE, 2020.
  • 2021: Abbas Abou Daya, Mohammad A. Salahuddin, Noura Limam and Raouf Boutaba (University of Waterloo, Canada). A Graph-Based Machine Learning Approach for Bot Detection. 16th IFIP/IEEE International symposium on Integrated Network Management (IM 2019)
  • 2020: Farnaz Moradi (Ericsson Research), Rolf Stadler (KTH The Royal Institute of Technology), and Andreas Johnsson (Ericsson Research). Performance Prediction in Dynamic Clouds using Transfer Learning, 16th IFIP/IEEE Symposium on Integrated Network and Service Management (IM 2019)

Award Committee

A best paper selection committee is formed; an initial term of a member of the committee is for two years, renewable for another two years. The ComSoc Board approved the following Award Committee to serve in 2021 and 2022:

  • Carol Fung (Virginia Commonwealth University, USA) – Chair
  • Takeru Inoue, NTT Laboratories, Japan
  • Jinho Hwang, IBM T.J. Watson, USA
  • Ai-Chun Pang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Walter Cerroni, University of Bologna, Italy



  • March 7, 2022


1. Only papers that have been published in conferences, held during 2019 and 2020, and supported by CNOM, are eligible. The list of conferences endorsed by our Internet Technical Committee in 2019 and 2020, thus eligible for the best paper award, contains:

  • IEEE/IFIP Network Operations and Management Symposium (NOMS) – 2020
  • IFIP/IEEE Integrated Management Symposium (IM) – 2021
  • International Conference on Network and Service Management (CNSM) – 2020 and 2021
  • Asia-Pacific Network Operations and Management Symposium (APNOMS) – 2020 and 2021
  • Latin-America Network Operations and Management Symposium (LANOMS) – 2020 and 2021
  • IEEE Conference on Network Softwarization (NetSoft) – 2020 and 2021
  • Conference on Innovation in Clouds, Internet and Networks (ICIN) – 2020 and 2021
  • Conference on Network of the Future (NoF) – 2020 and 2021
  • Conference on the Design of Reliable Communication Networks (DRCN) – 2020 and 2021
  • International Teletraffic Congress (ITC) – 2020 and 2021
  • Conference on Blockchain Research & Applications for Innovative Networks and Services (BRAINS) – 2020 and 2021
  • IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC) – 2020 and 2021
  • IEEE Global Communications Conference (GLOBECOM) – 2020 and 2021

2. Self-nominations are accepted.

3. The TPC chairs of events supported or endorsed by the CNOM are encouraged to nominate papers. Nominations must be submitted by email to with subject line “ComSoc CNOM Best Paper Award Nomination” and should include the following data:

  • Title of Paper:
  • Author List:
  • Author contact info (email address only):
  • Conference where published:
  • DOI link if available:
  • Nominee name and email address:

4. Include as attachment to the email:

  • A PDF copy of the paper
  • A nomination justification providing the rationale for the nomination (this can be in the body of the email).
  • If possible, reviewers’ reports of the paper (PDF or text)

5. The award committee members may also conduct their own assessment to identify additional potential candidate papers.